• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

Events

International Workshop “Social Inequality and Value Polarization: A Cross-Country Perspective”

The Laboratory for Comparative Social Research and Department of Sociology of the Higher School of Economics – Saint Petersburg invite you to visit the International Workshop “Social Inequality and Value Polarization: A Cross-Country Perspective” which will be held on September, 16-18, 2019 in Saint Petersburg.

The workshop will focus on the reasons and consequences of the rising popularity of nationalist, anti-emigrant, and populist parties in Europe and Russia. The parties representing the ‘far right’ and ‘far left’ political interests have recently gained larger support at the national parliaments of Europe and the European Parliament elections.

Is there a systemic shift towards conservatism that cuts across the established political party systems in all the regions of Europe? Is the rise of populist parties a sign of disappointment with politics or a leverage for the far-right parties? What are the social reasons for the growing support of anti-immigrant nationalist parties and what would be its social consequences? The speakers will discuss these and other issues in a cross-national perspective.

Main topics of the workshop:

  • populism and conservatism in Europe and Russia
  • reasons for voting for right-wing parties in Europe and Russia
  • value polarization in Europe and Russia
  • political participation and protests
  • gender (in)equality and gender attitudes
  • social inequality
  • social capital and trust
  • tolerance, nationalism and migration
  • electoral processes in Russia

Keynote speakers:

Christian Welzel (LCSR HSE, University of Leuphana),

Hanspeter Kriesi (LCSR HSE, European University Institute in Florence),

Malcolm Fairbrother (Umeå University, Institute for Futures Studies, Sweden),

Amy Alexander (University of Gothenburg),

Andreas Bågenholm (University of Gothenburg)

 

To register for the event, please contact Andrey Scherbak: ascherbak@hse.ru.

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

Мероприятия

Международная конференция «Социальное неравенство и поляризация ценностей»

Лаборатория сравнительных социальных исследований НИУ ВШЭ и департамент социологии НИУ ВШЭ СПБ приглашают посетить международный рабочий семинар ЛССИ “Социальное неравенство и поляризация ценностей» («Social Inequality and Value Polarization: A Cross-Country Perspective»), который пройдет с 16 по 18 сентября 2019 года в Санкт-Петербурге.

Конференция будет посвящена причинам и последствиям растущей популярности националистических, анти-иммигрантских и популистских партий и движений в Европе и России. Многие партии, которые относятся к крайне левым и крайне правым в последнее время получили значительное представительство по итогам национальных выборов и выборов в Европарламенте.

Наблюдается ли систематический сдвиг в сторону консерватизма, который накладывается на изменения в партийных системах по всей Европе? Является ли рост популистских партий признаком разочарования в политике или просто временным успехом крайне правых партий? Каковы социальные причины растущей поддержки анти-иммигрантских националистических партий и каковы могут быть социальные последствия? Участники конференции обсудят эти и другие вопросы в кросс-страновой сравнительной перспективе.

Основные темы семинара:

  • популизм и консерватизм в России и Европе
  • причины голосования за правые партии в России и Европе
  • ценностная поляризация в Европе и России
  • политическое участие и протестная активность
  • гендерное (не)равенство и гендерные установки
  • социальное неравенство
  • социальный капитал и доверие
  • толерантность, национализм и миграция
  • политические режимы и институты
  • электоральные процессы в России

    Ключевые докладчики:

    Christian Welzel (LCSR HSE, University of Leuphana),

    Hanspeter Kriesi (LCSR HSE, European University Institute in Florence),

    Malcolm Fairbrother (Umea University, Institute for Futures Studies, Sweden),

    Amy Alexander (University of Gothenburg),

    Andreas Bågenholm (University of Gothenburg)

     

    Рабочий язык семинара – английский.

    Регистрация на семинар обязательна и проходит до 10 сентября по адресу: ascherbak@hse.ru.