• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

Events

September, 14 — regular seminar

Event ended

Topic: “Work values and job preferences in Europe: gender aspect”
Speaker: Natalia Soboleva (Research Fellow, LCSR, HSE)

The Laboratory for Comparative Social Research announces the next regular seminar, which will be held in Moscow (Krivokolenny Pereulok, 3, room 3-333) on September, 14 at 18-00 p.m. Natalia Soboleva (Research Fellow, LCSR, HSE) will deliver a report “Work values and job preferences in Europe: gender aspect”.

Nowadays in Europe women do not have lower education as compared to men but at the same time they are often less advantaged in making a professional career. There are a number of reasons for that, such as gender discrimination in the labour market, unequal distribution of household chores, cultural differences, or women’s self-discrimination (both in the public and the private sphere). The study aims at revealing the association of gender attitudes, achievement motivation and realization of this achievement motivation of working women in Europe. The fifth wave of European Social Survey (2010) is used. 26 countries are included into the analysis. The sample is limited to working women. Multilevel regression modelling is applied. According to the results, women with more egalitarian gender attitudes in general have higher achievement motivation and are more likely to be able to influence policy decisions in the organization. At the same time, both these effects are not universal for all the countries. The effect on achievement motivation is relevant only for countries with low level of gender inequality. On the contrary, the effect on possibility to influence decisions is true for countries with high level of gender inequality. The impact of achievement motivation upon the possibility to influence decisions is very strong in all the countries.

Everyone interested is invited!

Working language is English.

Videoconference with St. Petersburg office of the LCSR (room 303, 55-2, Sedova st.) will be provided. Guests from St. Petersburg are invited to make a request for a pass to the building to Violetta Korsunova (vikorsunova@hse.ru) by 12 am of the seminar’s day.

Guests from Moscow are invited to make a request for a pass to the building to Ani Muradyan (amuradyan @hse.ru ) by 12 am of the seminar’s day.

Also after the seminar a videotape will be put up after the summary of the presentation.

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

14 сентября – регулярный семинар ЛССИ

Мероприятие завершено

Тема семинара: «Трудовые ценности и предпочтения относительно работы вЕвропе: гендерный аспект»
Выступающий: Наталья Соболева (научный сотрудник ЛССИ, НИУ ВШЭ)

14 сентября в 18:00 в Москве (Кривоколенный пер., д.3, комн. 3-333) состоится очередной регулярный семинар Лаборатории сравнительных социальных исследований. С докладом на тему «Трудовые ценности и предпочтения относительно работы в Европе: гендерный аспект» выступит Наталья Соболева (научный сотрудник ЛССИ, НИУ ВШЭ).

Сегодня в большинстве европейских стран женщины, по крайней мере, не уступают мужчинам по уровню образования, но, тем не менее, им сложнее делать профессиональную карьеру. У этого есть целый ряд причин, а именно гендерная дискриминация на рынке труда, неравное распределение домашних обязанностей, самодискриминация женщин, культурные различия. Целью исследования является выявление взаимосвязи между гендерными установками, достижительной мотивацией и реализацией этой мотивации среди работающих женщин в Европе. В качестве базы данных используется Европейское Социальное Исследование (2010). Многоуровневый регрессионный анализ по 26 странам показал, что у женщин с более эгалитарными гендерными установками сильнее выражена достижительнаямотивация и они чаще имеют возможности влиять на решения в организации, где они работают. При этом оба эффекта не являются универсальными для всех стран. Влияние гендерных установок на достижительную мотивацию имеет место только в странах с низким уровнем гендерного неравенства. Напротив, эффект гендерных установок на возможность влиять на решения внутри организации характерно лишь для стран с высоким уровнем гендерного неравенства. Влияние достижительной мотивации навозможность влиять на решения внутри организации очень сильное и имеет место во всех странах.

ПРИГЛАШАЮТСЯ ВСЕ ЖЕЛАЮЩИЕ!

Рабочий язык – английский.

В Санкт-Петербурге видеоконференция пройдет по адресу: ул. Седова 55-2, аудитория 303. В связи с пропускным режимом всем посетителям семинара необходимо предварительно зарегистрироваться по электронной почте – ovolchenko@hse.ru

В Москве в связи с пропускным режимом всем посетителям семинара необходимо предварительно зарегистрироваться по электронной почте – ttonyan@hse.ru..