• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

Kirill Zhirkov

Associate Researcher

E-mail: k.zhirkov@gmail.com

CV| Personal page

Education and academic positions:

  • 2010 – 2011 - Master of Arts (M. A.), European University at St. Petersburg, Department of Political Science and Sociology;
  • 2008 – 2010 - Master of Science (MSc), Utrecht University, the Netherlands, Graduate School of Social and Behavioral Sciences;
  • 2003 – 2008 - Specialist (Economist), St. Petersburg State University, Department of Economics.

Academic interests: political radicalism, social sciences methodology, social and political psychology, electoral behavior

Research projects:

  • Looking for a Universal Measure of Religiosity: A Latent Variable Approach  (with Ronald Inglehart; 2013-2014)
  • Immigration as a Dimension of Electoral Competition in Scandinavia  (2013-2014)
  • Is Muslims’ Anti-Americanism Unique? Evidence from Cross-National Survey Data (2012-2013)
  • Development, culture, and hostility to America: A study on the country-level predictors of anti-Americanism (2011-2012)
  • Nationalism, ethnic and political: Factors of Tatar nationalism in the republics of the Volga-Urals region of Russia (with Eduard Ponarin; 2010-2012)
  • Nativist but not Alienated:A Comparative Perspective on the Radical Right Vote in Western Europe (2011-2012)

Looking for a Universal Measure of Religiosity: A Latent Variable Approach (with Ronald Inglehart; ongoing)

The research project aims to conduct a cross-cultural analysis of religiosity and its determinants using the method of multilevel structural equation modeling. Project’s theoretical framework is based on the works of Ronald Inglehart and Pippa Norris who link a level of religiosity in a given society to both cultural heritage and socioeconomic development. In the project I plan to address several theoretical and methodological problems related to the cross-cultural analysis of religiosity. By now I managed to get first empirical results, namelyI tested the measurement part of the model based on confirmatory factor analysis. Further work on the project will include expansion of the model and attempt to disentangle individual and societal factors influencing religiosity in different cultural zones.

Immigration as a Dimension of Electoral Competition in Scandinavia (ongoing)

In the study I use spatial voting model to assess the importance of the left-right and immigration issue dimensions on electoral behavior in Denmark, Norway, and Sweden. My findings indicate that distances between parties and voters on both left-right and immigration dimensions do significantly influence voting choice in all three countries, although effect of the latter is substantially lower. I also demonstrate that voting for the niche parties, and especially for the radical right, is much stronger related to the immigration issue than voting for the mainstream parties, both center-left and center-right ones. Finally, my analysis demonstrates that positional spatial voting model shows a good degree of stability even under imperfect measurement of policy preferences.

Development, Culture, and Hostility to America: A Study on the Country-Level Predictors of Anti-Americanism (completed)

Within the present study survey data from 45 countries are examined by the means of factor and regression analyses in order to understand the nature and causes of anti-Americanism.  Empirical results reveal the existence of general and political forms of anti-Americanism as two theoretically and empirically distinct phenomena.  The former concerns negative attitudes to the U.S., Americans, and spread of American values, while the latter is related to criticism of American foreign policy.  The two forms also differ in their relationships to socioeconomic development: General anti-Americanism is most widespread in countries with average levels of HDI, whereas political anti-Americanism is stronger in the most developed societies.  It was also found that Muslim societies are characterized by higher levels of general anti-Americanism.  This association needs further explanation as regression results indicate that it cannot be attributed to conservative social values or authoritarian political regimes.

Research Progress:

Is Muslims’ Anti-Americanism Unique? Evidence from Cross-National Survey Data (completed)

Within the present study I use large-scale cross-national survey data and multilevel regression analysis to address the driving forces behind popular anti-Americanism with emphasis on Muslim populations.  In the theoretical part of the paper I formulate several testable hypothesis derived from both “clash of civilizations” framework and alternative approaches to the issue of anti-Americanism.  Empirical analysis provides with a number of important findings.  First, Muslim respondents appear to be more anti-American than non-Muslims even if other potential factors are also taken into account.  Second, political predictors of anti-Americanism are substantially more powerful than cultural ones in terms of their effect sizes.  Third, my results indicate that general, cultural, and political forms of anti-Americanism have largely similar predictors on the individual level.  Opposition to war in Iraq is found to be the strongest predictor of anti-Americanism for both Muslim and non-Muslim respondents.  Overall, my findings do not make a decisive argument in the debate on anti-Americanism suggesting that the latter is caused by both cultural and political factors.

Research progress: 

Nationalism, Ethnic and Political: Factors of Tatar Nationalism in the Republics of the Volga-Urals Region of Russia (with Eduard Ponarin; completed)

The project addresses the issue of relationship between ethnic and political nationalism in the Volga-Urals region of Russian Federation. One of the factors which can possibly influence the connection between the two forms of nationalism is the institutional design of federation assuming the presence of titular groups within the national republics. With the example of Tatar populations of Tatarstan and Bashkortostan it is investigated whether titular and nontitular groups differ in the levels of nationalist attitudes as well as in the factors of their development. In the study we analyze the characteristic for the institutional design of federation in Russia and highlight the historical factors which shaped its development. We also recapitulate the history of Tatar nationalism since the Russian conquest of Volga-Urals region till the present time. Then using the data of mass surveys conducted in years 2005 and 2011 in Tatarstan and Bashkortostan we conduct the statistical analysis. The results indicate the presence of a coherent pattern of Tatar nationalism within the Volga-Urals region and its relative prevalence. However, the explanatory factors of Tatar nationalism in the two republics and in the two chosen time points differ. Finally, we make some conclusions regarding the potential of nationalist movement within the Volga-Urals region.

Nativist but not Alienated: A Comparative Perspective on the Radical Right Vote in Western Europe (completed)

In the present study I use large-scale survey data to compare radical right voting to other forms of electoral behavior in Western Europe.The chosen method, multilevel multinomial logistic regression, allows, first, distinguishing among voting for several party families as well as abstention and, second, controlling for differences between countries and survey rounds.I find that the radical right electorate is not characterized by social alienation or anti-modern values; these characteristics are more likely to be encountered among people who abstain from elections.Radical right voting is most strongly motivated by political attitudes, namely by negative perception of immigration, political mistrust, opposition to income redistribution, and—rather unexpectedly—political satisfaction.My analysis also shows that radical right parties in different West European countries attract voters with similar ideological orientations which remain relatively stable over time.In the conclusion I discuss implications of my findings for comparative research on the radical right party family.

Other presentations:

Selected publications:

  • Zhirkov, K. (2014) Development, culture, and attitudes to America: country-level predictors of anti-Americanism" // Working papers by NRU Higher School of Economics. Series SOC "Sociology". 2013. No. WP BRP 35/SOC/2014 Read online
  • Zhirkov, K. (2013) Nativist but not alienated A comparative perspective on the radical right vote in Western Europe // Party Politics, December 16, 2013 , doi: 10.1177/1354068813511379 Read online
  • Ponarin E. and Zhirkov K. (2013). Political and Ethnic Nationalism: Institutional Factors of Tatar Nationalism in the Volga-Ural Region // Mir Rossii (The World of Russia), 3, 2013, pp. 152-177. (In Russian)
  • Zhirkov, K., Verkuyten, M., & Weesie, J. (2013). Perceptions of world politics and support for terrorism among Muslims: Evidence from Muslim countries and Western Europe // Conflict Management and Peace Science , 0738894213510121. Read online

 

Have you spotted a typo?
Highlight it, click Ctrl+Enter and send us a message. Thank you for your help!
To be used only for spelling or punctuation mistakes.

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

Жирков Кирилл Анатольевич

ассоциированный сотрудник

E-mail: k.zhirkov@gmail.com

 

Резюме| Персональная страница

Образование, должности и почетные титулы:

  • 2010-2011 - Master of Arts, Европейский университет в Санкт-Петербурге;
  • 2008-2010 - Master of Science, Graduate School of Social and Behavioral Sciences, Utrecht University, Нидерланды;
  • 2003-2008 - специалист, экономический факультет, Санкт-Петербургский государственный университет.

Научные интересы: политический радикализм, методология в общественных науках, социальная и политическая психология, электоральное поведение.

Исследовательские проекты:

  • В поисках универсального измерителя религиозности: анализ с использованием латентной переменной (2013-2014)
  • Иммиграция как измерение электоральной борьбы в Скандинавии (2013-2014)
  • Уникален ли антиамериканизм среди мусульман? Анализ данных кросс-национальных массовых опросов (2012-2013)
  • Развитие, культура и враждебность к Америке: исследование причин антиамериканизма на страновом уровне (2011-2012)
  • Национализм этнический и политический: факторы татарского национализма в республиках Волжско-Уральского региона России (совместно с Э. Д. Понариным; 2010-2012)
  • Нативисты, но не одинокие: сравнительный анализ избирателей крайне правых партий в странах Западной Европы (2011-2012)

В поисках универсального измерителя религиозности: анализ с использованием латентной переменной (совместно с Рональдом Инглхартом; текущий)

Проект исследования посвящен кросс-культурному анализу религиозности с использованием метода многоуровневого моделирования структурными уравнениями. С теоретической точки зрения проект основывается на работах Рональда Инглхарта и Пиппы Норрис, которые увязывают степень религиозности общества одновременно с культурным наследием и уровнем социально-экономического развития. В рамках проекта будут затронуты некоторые теоретические и методологические трудности, связанные с кросс-культурным анализом религиозности. К настоящему моменту получены первые эмпирические результаты, а именно протестирована измерительная часть структурной модели и проведен конфирматорный факторный анализ. План дальнейшей работы над проектом включает расширение аналитической модели с целью сравнить индивидуальные и социетальные факторы, определяющие религиозность в различных культурных зонах.

Иммиграция как измерение электоральной борьбы в Скандинавии (текущий)

Данный проект обращается к вопросу применимости классической модели «пространственного голосования» к нишевым партиям и так называемым «новым политическим вопросам». В качестве эмпирического материала используется голосование в Дании, Норвегии и Швеции, мотивированное как классической левой-правой идеологией, так и отношением к иммиграции. Теоретической базой выступает теория рационального выбора в электоральном поведении, впервые сформулированная Энтони Даунсом и позже формализованная в модели «пространственного голосования». Первое тестирование аналитической модели показало ряд важных закономерностей. Во-первых, идеологическая дистанция между партиями и избирателями и по традиционной левой-правой шкале, и по шкале иммиграции влияет на выбор последних. Во-вторых, в среднем дистанция по левой-правой шкале является более важной. В-третьих, для нишевых партий, в особенности для крайне правых, роль дистанции по шкале иммиграции относительно выше. Дальнейшая работа над проектом предполагает усовершенствование аналитической модели, необходимое в условиях несовершенного измерения идеологических позиций партий и избирателей.

Развитие, культура и враждебность к Америке: исследование причин антиамериканизма на страновом уровне (завершен)

В рамках данного проекта данные опросов в 45 странах исследуются с помощью факторного и регрессионного анализа с целью понять природу и причины распространения антиамериканизма. Эмпирические результаты свидетельствуют о существовании общей и политической форм антиамериканизма как двух теоретически и эмпирически различных явлений. Если первый включает в себя негативное отношение к США, американцам и распространению американских ценностей, то второй связан с критикой в адрес отдельных аспектов внешней политики США. Две формы антиамериканизма также различаются в отношении к социально-экономическому развитию: общий антиамериканизм наиболее распространен в странах со средним уровнем человеческого развития, тогда как политический антиамериканизм силен в самых развитых обществах. Также было найдено, что мусульманские общества характеризуются сравнительно более высоким уровнем антиамериканизма. Данная закономерность нуждается в дополнительном изучении, поскольку результаты регрессионного анализа показывают, что она не может быть объяснена преобладающими в мусульманских странах консервативными ценностями и авторитарными политическими институтами.

Прогресс в исследовании:

Уникален ли антиамериканизм среди мусульман? Анализ данных кросс-национальных массовых опросов (завершен)

Задачей данного исследования является объяснение более широкого распространения антиамериканизма в мусульманских обществах по сравнению с немусульманскими. Для эмпирического анализа используются данные PewGlobalAttitudesProjectза 2007 год на индивидуальном уровне. В ходе исследования тестируется ряд гипотез, связывающих антиамериканизм как с религиозным конфликтом между исламским миром и Западом, так и с различными аспектами политики США в отношении мусульманского мира. В результате анализа выясняется, что мусульмане действительно в среднем демонстрируют более высокий уровень антиамериканизма по сравнению с представителями других религий. Эта ситуация объясняется преимущественно более высокой чувствительностью мусульман к политике глобального и регионального доминирования, проводимой американской администрацией. Наиболее сильным фактором, способствующим негативному отношению к США среди всех респондентов, является американское военное присутствие в Ираке. При этом религиозный фактор частично сохраняется: религиозные мусульмане настроены более антиамерикански по сравнению с нерелигиозными мусульманами. В заключение делается вывод о том, что политические факторы антиамериканизма среди мусульман являются более значимыми по сравнению с религиозными, хотя последние тоже являются статистически значимыми.

Прогресс в исследовании:

Национализм этнический и политический: факторы татарского национализма в республиках Волжско-Уральского региона России (совместно с Эдуардом Понариным; завершён)

Исследование обращается к проблеме взаимоотношения этнического и политического национализма в Волжско-Уральском регионе Российской Федерации. Одним из факторов, который может повлиять на взаимосвязь двух форм национализма, представляется институциональный дизайн федерации, в рамках которого существуют титульные группы в национальных республиках. На примере татарского населения в Татарстане и Башкортостане прослеживается, насколько титульные и нетитульные группы отличаются по уровню националистических настроений, а также по факторам их формирования. Анализируется характеристика институционального дизайна федерации в России, а также выделяются повлиявшие на него исторические факторы. Кроме того прослеживается история развития татарского национализма от включения Волжско-Уральского региона в состав России до настоящего времени. Затем с использованием данных массовых опросов, проведенных в 2005 и 2011 годах в Татарстане и Башкортостане, проводится статистический анализ. Результаты анализа показывают наличие устойчивой модели татарского национализма в Волжско-Уральском регионе, а также его достаточно широкое распространение. Тем не менее, объяснительные факторы разнятся как для двух республик, так и для двух исследуемых периодов времени. В заключение делаются выводы относительно потенциала развития националистических настроений в Волжско-Уральском регионе.

Нативисты, но не одинокие: сравнительный анализ избирателей крайне правых партий в странах Западной Европы (завершен)

В данном исследовании я использую данные массовых опросов для сравнения мотивов голосования за крайне правые партии с другими формами электорального поведения в Западной Европе. Используемый метод, многоуровневая мультиномиальная логистическая регрессия, позволяет, во-первых, сделать различие между голосованием за различные типы партий, а также неучастием в голосовании, и, во-вторых, оценить различия между странами и раундами опросов. Анализ показал, что крайне правые избиратели не отличаются социальной исключенностью или антимодернизационными ценностями – подобные характеристики чаще встречаются среди тех, кто вообще не участвует в голосовании. Голосование за крайне правые партии в наибольшей степени мотивировано политическими установками, такими как негативное отношение к иммиграции, недоверие политическим институтам и оппозиция распределению доходов. Результаты также показывают, что в разных странах Западной Европы крайне правые партии привлекают избирателей с очень схожими идеологическими установками.

Избранные публикации:

  • Zhirkov, K. (2014) Development, culture, and attitudes to America: country-level predictors of anti-Americanism" // Working papers by NRU Higher School of Economics. Series SOC "Sociology". 2013. No. WP BRP 35/SOC/2014 Read online
  • Zhirkov, K. (2013) Nativist but not alienated A comparative perspective on the radical right vote in Western Europe // Party Politics, December 16, 2013, doi: 10.1177/1354068813511379 Read online
  • Э.Д. Понарин, К.А. Жирков. (2013) Национализм этнический и политический: институциональные факторы татарского национализма в республиках Волжско-Уральского региона. // Мир России, №3, с. 152-177
  • Zhirkov, K., Verkuyten, M., & Weesie, J. (2013). Perceptions of world politics and support for terrorism among Muslims: Evidence from Muslim countries and Western Europe // Conflict Management and Peace Science , 0738894213510121.  Read online

 


 

Нашли опечатку?
Выделите её, нажмите Ctrl+Enter и отправьте нам уведомление. Спасибо за участие!
Сервис предназначен только для отправки сообщений об орфографических и пунктуационных ошибках.